Secret Passages of Paris

Updated post with photos available at: https://pristiner.com/2018/12/26/paris-secret-passageways/

A few weeks ago, one of my friends took the initiative to set up a wonderful little jaunt around Paris for us. It was a tour of the Secret Passages of Paris. These passages, many long forgotten, were once the stomping grounds of the elite, but are now mostly dusty and forgotten… and strangely prone to housing toy stores and used book shops. These passages were the precursors to the modern shopping mall, but with the advent of “les grands magasins” at the turn of the century, they began a steady rate of decline in foot traffic as they were not as convenient as the grands magasins, nor as accessible as their street-front counterparts. That said, it makes for a beautiful tour of Haussmanian architecture.

Here is our tour, along with a high-def MS Paint illustration.
(1) Passage des Princes (2e)
(2) Passage Verdeau (2e)
(3) Passage Jouffroy (2e)
(4) Passage des Panoramas (2e)
(5) Passage Choiseul (2e)
(6) Galerie Vivienne (1e)
(7) Galerie Vérot Dodat (2e)
(8) Passage du Bourg l’Abbé (2e)
(9) Passage du Grand Cerf (2e)
(10) Passage Ben Aiad (2e)
(11) Passage du Caire (2e)
(12) Passage du Ponceau (2e)
(13) Passage du Prado (10e)

About Christina from Pristiner

Hi! I'm a software exec by day and eco-travel junkie by night. I was living in country #3 before my 3rd birthday, and haven't slowed down much since. Oh, and I also have an adorable daughter whom I am trying to force to be tri-lingual (English, French, and Chinese).
This entry was posted in Tourism, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Secret Passages of Paris

  1. Sue says:

    I’m going to use this on a trip to Paris soon; thanks!

  2. ontheoriginofboobies says:

    My pleasure, Sue!

  3. Joyce says:

    Hi! I love your list and map. Can you estimate how long the walk is? Is this something you’ll be busy with all day?
    Greetings, Joyce

  4. Pingback: 23 reasons to visit Paris in Winter - four on a world trip

  5. Pingback: Paris in Winter - what to do and see during the colder season?

  6. ruby2128 says:

    The Paris Passages are AWESOME! I stayed at the Hotel Chopin in the P. Verdeau which links to P. Panoramas and P. Jouffroy. Great posting … there are several that I have not visited. Am ready now!

  7. Christina from Pristiner says:

    Thank you so much!! It’s a pretty cool walking trip that allows you to see a hidden side of Paris.

  8. Christina from Pristiner says:

    Sorry for the late reply! This will take a full afternoon, depending on how often you stop to smell the roses. I’m planning to update this post on my main blog, at Pristiner.com soon, so will add some notes on timing there!

  9. Christina from Pristiner says:

    So happy to hear it! I’m going to be updating the post soon on my main blog at Pristiner,com too!

  10. Christina from Pristiner says:

    Thanks so much for sharing this!

  11. Pingback: 33 reasons why you should visit Paris in Winter – My Win List

  12. Andrew says:

    Great list. Are all the passages open to the public? I see some of them are gated. Can you just go in? Though it could be Google street view took the photos during closed hours. Sadly some seems to show as permanently closed now, such as Passage des Princes. 😦

Leave a comment